2022 Orienteering USA Nationals

November 11-13, 2022 (Veteran's Day 3-day Weekend)

Sprint:  Friday, Nov 11 - Pierce College

note: Sprint is not yet sanctioned and awarded

Middle:  Saturday, Nov 12 - Vasquez Rocks Natural Area


Long:  Sunday, Nov 13 - Red Rock Canyon State Park

LAOC is proud to host the 2022 OUSA Nationals in our premier desert terrain. 


Sprint - Pierce College will be a brand new sprint map. This community college in the San Fernando Valley is well known for it's agricultural programs.

Middle - Vasquez Rocks is an internationally known map that has been used for prior Relay and Trail-O Championships along with NJROTC Champs. It is optimal middle format terrain with highly technical rock detail and fast running.

Long - Red Rock Canyon State Park has been used for local events on a quick and dirty USGS based map. The Nationals will feature a newly field-checked ISOM map. This terrain features subtle wash features along with old mining features and desert hills.


Pierce College is embargoed with the exception of enrolled students attending classes.

The entirety of Vasquez Rocks Natural Area is embargoed until we release model event boundaries.

Red Rock Canyon State Park is embargoed east of Highway 14. Areas west of Highway 14, including the Ricardo Campground are not embargoed.




Registration is now open - Click here to register

Registered Orienteers

Regular Registration closes on Sunday, October 16 at midnight, Pacific Time.

Late Registration closes on Tuesday, November 1 at midnight Pacific Time.

There will be NO onsite registration.

Recreational entries will be accepted at all races for the White (Basic) and Yellow (Intermediate) courses only.

Red Rock Canyon will also be a COOL League event and recreational pricing is available for the COOL participants on that day only.


We are experiencing a bug that will only affect Juniors who do not select the package option. In this case the COOL race will default to being selected. If you are not a COOL League participant, be sure to change this to non-compete or you will be charged the $10 fee for this race.

Reg Adult
Reg Junior
Late Adult
Late Junior
3 Day Championship Package
Individual Championship Race - Sprint, Middle, or Long
Individual Recreational Entry - per day
Sunday COOL League Event only

does not include federation discount or E-Punch rental

E-Punch rental:

$2 per event for standard estick

additional $20 flat fee to upgrade your rental to SI Air+

Event T-shirts available for $15 - Tech fabric with special 2022 Nationals design. Design will be posted on site as soon as final artwork is available.

Your registration is not confirmed until payment is received. The registration system processes payments via Paypal or you may send a check to the registrar.


Full refunds will be provided for cancellations prior to the regular registration deadline.

80% refund for cancellations prior to late registration deadline.

No refunds after late registration deadline except to prevent disease transmission.


Friday, November 11

11:30 am - 2:30 pm  Packet pickup available at Pierce College

1:00 pm - 3:00 pm  Sprint starts at Pierce College

7:00 pm - 9:30 pm  Packet pickup available at event hotel in Lancaster (Best Western Desert Poppy Inn)

Saturday, November 12

8:30 am - 11:30 am  Packet pickup available at Vasquez Rocks

10:00 am - Noon  Middle starts at Vasquez Rocks

approximately 1:00 pm  Awards ceremony for sprint and middle at Vasquez Rocks

5:00ish to whenever  Drop-in pizza social at Vince's Pasta and Pizza, Lancaster

Sunday, November 13

7:00 am - 10:30 am  Packet pickup available at Red Rock Canyon State Park

8:30 am - 11:00 am  Long starts at Red Rock Canyon State Park

approximately 12:30 pm  Awards ceremony for long at Red Rock Canyon State Park


The event will take place on the Veteran's Day 3-day weekend. Los Angeles International Airport usually has the most flexible and lowest fare options. Burbank or Bakersfield are other options.


We have secured a block of rooms at the Best Western Desert Poppy Inn in Lancaster CA at the following rates:

King $174/night  Double $184/night

To book call the hotel directly at (661) 418-0550 and ask for the group rate for the National Orienteering Championships.

Many other hotels for a variety of budgets can be found in the Lancaster/Palmdale area.

Camping is available first-come/first-serve at Red Rock Canyon State Park

This site has a pretty decent summary of other camping options closer to town

Distance from LAX to:

Pierce College - 30 miles - 30 to 60 minute drive

Vasquez Rocks - 52 miles - 60 to 90 minute drive

Red Rock Canyon State Park - 124 miles - 2 to 3 hour drive

Distance from BUR to:

Pierce College - 20 miles - 20 to 60 minute drive

Vasquez Rocks - 32 miles - 45 to 60 minute drive

Red Rock Canyon State Park - 110 miles - 1.5 to 2 hour drive

Distance from BFL to:

Pierce College - 110 miles - 1.75 to 2.5 hour drive

Vasquez Rocks - 110 miles - 2 to 2.5 hour drive

Red Rock Canyon State Park - 90 miles - 1.5 to 2 hour drive



Expect chilly evenings and warm days.

Average high/low for this time of year:

Near Pierce College   77ºF / 44ºF

Near Vasquez Rocks  69ºG / 40ºF

Near Red Rock         67ºF / 39ºF

Event Team

Event Director: Clare Durand

Registrar: Allan Pincus

Sprint Course Setter: Scott Schmitz

Middle Course Setter: Bruce Garbaccio

Long Course Setter: Kim Pincus

Course Consultant: Jim Hall

LAOC President: John Phillips